National arts councils

The national arts councils make decisions regarding the awarding of state artist grants, as well as other grants and awards for artists, artist groups and organisations.

The Central Arts Council decides the number of national arts councils, their names and their roles. The Central Arts Council also appoints the members of the national arts councils for two-year terms based on the recommendations of recognised experts in the fields of the arts and culture.

National arts councils 2017-18

In 2017-18 there are seven national arts councils. The Central Arts Council appointed their members in autumn 2016. Arts organisations were asked to nominate candidates.

  • National Council for Architecture and Design, which covers the fields of architecture and design. The council has a chairperson and nine other members.
  • National Council for Literature, which covers the fields of literature and art journalism. The council has a chairperson and ten other members. Two of the members are Swedish-speaking Finns.
  • National Council for Music, which covers the field of music. The council has a chairperson and nine other members.  



Last modified: 10.10.2017


Arts Promotion Centre Finland
Hakaniemenranta 6, PL 1001
00531  Helsinki

Tel. +358 295 330 700

Staff search